England: Food Edition Part 1

My first purchased meal was lunch in England. It was 57F out and misting, and I was cold and hungry, having eated just airplane food (not much of that!) and trail mix since my dinner of sushi before leaving Raleigh Saturday night.
IMG_1501
(For those of you who know I prefer to eat vegetarian, that is still true, but figuring out how to do that while traveling and also avoiding wheat and dairy is  pretty impossible. I choose feeling OK over eating vegetarian.)

Check out the verbage on the napkin. I just love how wordy it is. A tag line that is three lines long. Jeesh.

During my first, jet-lagged (or really just sleep-deprived day) I ate the above soup and trail mix. I was ready for breakfast Monday morning.

IMG_1504Note: Blurry pictures happen when you feel a little like a dork for photographing your food so you do it quickly.

A word about the coffee:  when the restauranteur delivered my coffee, I took one look and thought, “Oh shoot…I told him black. Clearly this has milk in it.” I took a sip to confirm, and it was so rich that I was convinced. As time went on and the froth on top dissipated, I realized that it was actually black, but so rich that it had me fooled. I think the coffee that came with the meal was actually an Americano (espresso and hot water). It was delicious.

Two poached eggs, Canadian bacon, sausuage, roasted to-mah-toes, mushrooms, and baked beans. Apparently, this is pretty standard ingredients for the Full English Breakfast, as the same order at Heart and Soul, a little restaurant near my accommodations at the University of Surrey, was much the same (although not quite as tasty):

IMG_1507
This time, I watched the server make me an Americano and charge just £1. The same coffee drink in America will set you back at least $2.50, and even filter coffee in America costs more than this.

My other meals so far:

Dinner at the same little restaurant near my accommodation at University of Surrey. They were out of everything except burgers, but luckily did have a veggie burger. The chips were great; the burger was OK.

IMG_1509
Dinner at Olivios, an Italian place in Guildford. And who says that English food is boring? The to-mah-toes were so fresh, and the dressing was delicious. The salmon was poached…not my favorite style, but maybe it was really good for poached salmon. I just kind of thought it tasted like canned tuna? It was really pretty, though.

I wish I had taken a picture of my lunch, which was at a nicer restaurant on campus called Lakeside. Hospitality is a really big thing to study here (is anyone surprised) and the students from Hospitality Mangement School run this restaurant. My dish was sea bass over mashed potatoes, green beans, and a creamed spinach, with a starter of beetroot mousse and something else I forgot right after I ordered it, served in a cocktail glass on a long stem. It was quite beautiful, and very very good. I felt too dorkish in that place to photograph it.

On another food note, with a little bit of extra time and curiosity, I walked to the grocery store just 1/2 mile from where I am staying on University of Surrey campus. I just wondered how different things would be from a US supermarket. Lots of things I expected…large shelf real estate for biscuits (i.e. cookies) and tea, things like scotch eggs, lots of beer and cider. Here are a few things of note:


Eggs are not refrigerated. This makes total sense. I wonder if Brits put them in the fridge when they get home with them?


This is just something I don’t understand. I see this on menus as well. I am not sure I even want to know what they taste like. Surely not like the canned LeSeur peas of my childhood? I will be fine if I die not knowing.

I just thought this was funny because when one of my daughters was younger (honestly can’t remember who it was), she could not keep from calling popsicles “Lollilpops.” Apparently others do the same!

And that’s a wrap for now…more to come! Have yet to visit a pub, or have a cider…

One response to “England: Food Edition Part 1

  1. Dork or not – I’m glad you took the pictures, especially since the foods are somewhat different. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten baked beans for breakfast! But I have eaten things just as strange – it’s surprising how many left-over foods from supper taste fine with eggs, either beside them, under them, or mixed in.
    Those yucky LeSeur peas are just one step away from mushy. Thanks for telling the whole world that’s what I fed you when you were a child. Can’t believe I ever liked them. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

